Search the web   Search this site

Tuesday, March 11, 2008

1st Filipino-American Visionary Awards

This is unprecedented gathering and a great achievement for Filipino artist as they are honored in the First Filipino-American Visionary Awards last March 7, 2008 at the Kodak Theater in Hollywood for their contribution in arts, sports and entertainment.

The event was hosted by Jannelle So and Ding Dong Avanzado.

NuVision Chairman and CEO Ramil Q. Gonzales, “we want to give a NEW vision and appreciation of Filipinos to the world, particularly in the entertainment industry. We want to make a difference in this industry and by awarding those who have achieved excellence in their respective fields --- television, film, music, etc. ---- we hope to bring pride and recognition to honor those who have put Filipinos on the map. And not just the Filipino-Americans who have made a difference here in Hollywood, but those from the Philippines whose contributions to promote our talents have uplifted the profile of Filipinos in the arts and entertainment.”

Here's the list of the award winners:

Legend Award for Comedy:

Legend Award for Television Hosting:
Tito Sotto, Vic Sotto, Joey de Leon

Outstanding Performance by an Actor:
Richard Gutierrez

Outstanding Performance by an Actress:
Bea Alonzo

Legend Award for Acting (Male):
Christopher de Leon

Legend Award for Acting (Female):
Sharon Cuneta

Legend Award for Entertainment:
Vilma Santos

Visionary Award for Action Performance:
Rudy Fernandez

Legend Award for Music:
Francis Magalona

Visionary Award for Courage:
Sen. Ramon “Bong’ Revilla

Visionary Award for Journalism:
Mike Enriquez - GMA7 Network

Athlete of the Year:
Manny Pacquiao

Visionary Award for Entertainer of the Year:
Martin Nievera

Image Award for Music: - Founding Member, Black-Eyed Peas

Role Model Award:
Dante Basco

Rising Star Award:
Anna Marie Perez de Tagle

Legend Award for Sports:
Sonny Garcia, World Champion Surfer

Visionary Award for Government Service:
Congressman Luis Villafuerte

Visionary Award for Television Host of the Year:
Charo Santos-Concio

Visionary Award for Excellence in Television Programming:
GMA7 Network

Legend Award for Acting:
Nia Peeples

Image Award for Acting:
Mark Dacascos

Visionary Vanguard Award for Entertainment:
Lou Diamond Phillips

Visionary Vanguard Award for Entertainment:
Tia Carrere

Favorite Television Actor:
Ding Dong Dantes

Favorite Television Actress:
Marian Rivera

Legend Award Media Pioneer:
ABS-CBN Global, The Filipino Channel

Lifetime Achievement Award:
Sen. Robert Jaworski

photo courtesy of Ver Pen and for more photo.Click Here.

Related Posts with Thumbnails


Post a Comment

Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More

Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | GreenGeeks Review